Enduro Event Coverage.

by trivialmtb

TrivialMTBLogo

 

When a cycling acquaintance says, “Hey, you should check out this coverage from our local enduro event!”

And I say, “Sure! I just need to do one thing real fast…”

nothanksidratherjumpoffacliff

 

I skimmed that half hour Dirt TV video of the France round of the EWS from last weekend because yeah, it looked fun and there was a lot of the courses pointed down… but I couldn’t stand the generic looped sounding background music fading up and down every 4 seconds for another broken English-as-second-or-third-language interview. I don’t expect bike riders in general to be eloquent (see Sam Blenkinsop talking about shitting his pants in any interview ever recorded during the Yeti years), and I really don’t expect anyone to say anything insightful about race strategy in a non-native language after their nervous system is completely taxed by a stage. Frankly it looked like a blast to ride, but I was bored watching it after it was no longer about Sven crashing while wearing a backpack full of more value in gear than I have equity in property.

And that’s like the pinnacle of enduro media right there!

When some bro-ha wants me to watch an amateur-hour video of some bush league event being held on previously existing trail with tons of ball-pedaling and lots of goobers wearing full faced helmets with sunglasses/camelbaks or half shell helmet with goggles, well… I’d rather just jump off a god damn cliff.

Don’t support these lousy events. Don’t watch their shit-ass videos and definitely don’t give them your dollars and attendance. Just because real downhill racing has been a less than ideal relationship the last several years in the states, it doesn’t mean that you should go out and bed up with the very next guy who whispers sweet promises in your ears about how they’re different, baby and they’ll never let you down. It’s the same shitty relationship all over again only with a smaller dick.